[Der Bodensee immer links.] (german below)


Special thanx to Liz Maue for the translation ❤

Reasons and Motivation for hiking around Lake Constance

It was on my 39th birthday in 2012 that I felt something seething deep down inside of me. Something that was different than usual. I sensed a small blazing fire and a feeling of slight inner restlessness. The brain in my gut said to me: “ The year that you will become 40 will change your life forever“ Other than that there was no more information coming from the „world soul“ to me.
My birthday was the same as ever and the change in my everyday life wasn’t worth mentioning. The work in the factory as a shift worker was as always successful even if it under no circumstances satisfied me. It was just there and brought me a good livelihood; Compensation for lost leisure.

The relationship to myself and to my partner deteriorated more and more, despite our lovely home and the double earnings which we both brought home. We really didn’t need to worry about money at all. Did I worry about our relationship? No, I thought the difficulties would disappear on their own and that all would be well one day. I was such an idiot then.

I didn’t understand that a relationship needs a lot of work! Did I just live the way my parents did, following their example?

“ I think so. How should I have known how to do it better“

This is not a verdict of guilt on my parents. I know that my parents did their best. Relationship problems often stretch through generations and the handed-down difficulties usually take a long time to be resolved.

Anyway, what I could have needed was a hint from someone on the outside. Probably there was one. Maybe I just didn’t have the courage to pursue new steps and ways towards making a change.

That’s just the way it is. Even I didn’t lose many words about it.

That doesn’t happen very often even though it makes things easier. Just communicate with others around you and if you are lucky you catch somebody who has more experience than you. Maybe they have solutions for new ways which they practice.

Days and weeks passed by and the year ended just like so many years before: unspectacular, simple and quote „normal“. New Year 2013 caught up with us. Repeated quarrelling in our relationship, drifting apart and changes which were not positive. We didn’t grow together anymore.

The unescapable end of our relationship happened at the beginning of March. Sleepless nights and loss of appetite followed in my life. I tried to
drown my sorrows in alcohol but failed miserably. So goodbye to my dear booze; down the drain with you and stop. Drinking is not a solution and never will be. It is just a short postponement of problems, nothing more. I managed quite well at work despite the crisis I was in. That wasn’t too difficult. If you adopt a certain routine at work and apply it with discipline, it will be usually be successful. During this time I got to know myself better and made good and important decisions even though I got no answers to my many questions. From whom?

I had answers inside me. It felt good and right. Follow your heart and your intuition. Yes

Loneliness and empty rooms became my home and my allies. A difficult time that I will surely never quite forget. I kept hold of my dream to have a good relationship and to start my own family and that was the ultimate incentive for my experiment.

The / A New Beginning

The job als shift-worker in the factory was put ad acta. Over and out after 16 years of loyalty to my former boss. The only thing I felt sorry about was giving up the good relationships to most of my colleagues. Let go.

My beloved VW-camper was rusting away from underneath me so I gave it away one month before the next MOT test was due. I gave up the flat that we had shared and enrolled at college to qualify as a foreman in the metal industry. This was the last attempt to win back the heart of my ex-girl friend which meant I would have to move to Freiburg although I am a country bumpkin. I feel at ease living out in the countryside. Nothing that I did helped. Life’s circumstances broke up our relationship.

The end is the end – in my case

Basically, I developed the courage to do things that I wasn’t prepared to do up until now. I gained experience to complete my personality. That was good!

The greatest gift that I gave myself: Openness towards my feelings as well as being able to speak openly and authentically. To love myself just as I am. (I know that now, at present!)

Just as it happens in life, I got an invitation to visit Lake Constance from a girlfriend I met as a youth. After overcoming the difficulty to get going I drove to see her at the weekend in April 2013. My ex-partner’s parents with whom I had spent many wonderful days also lived at the place where she lived at Lake Constance.

Today, I am still humbly thankful for this. How would I manage to drive past this village? That was one of the questions and feelings that was agonising me before I set off. Would I ever see them again? (another one).

My parents showed me Lake Constance as I was a child. It was already branded in my child’s heart. I remember for example the boat trips on the lake, crossings in the car on the ferry, Mainau Island or the mountain tunnel to Austria.

Now I really did drive past the place where they lived and despite my misgivings I was alright. I will keep the love in my heart and no one can take it away.

After arriving I had a wonderful time with my good friend and getting over my personal drama all on my own gave me my strength back. My ego talked to me and convinced me to be courageous. „Kai, you won’t see and feel Lake Constance for a long time“ (such rubbish, finally)

On an outing to the lake on the beach, I had my first vision to do something crazy before going back to Freiburg to move into a flat share and to live my new life.

Actually, my ex-girlfriend introduced me to hiking. She always wanted to do a hiking trip lasting several days with me.

I wasn’t prepared to do that then and in actual fact I promised her to go on a backpack trip in summer 2013 to South America.

Before that though, I wanted to search for another job because working shifts was causing insomnia. In the weeks when I had early shifts I was permanently tired after working for a few days. In the evening when I should have gone to bed early in order to get enough sleep I was wide awake. In the weeks when I had late shifts I would rarely go to sleep before 3 o’clock in the morning. My fate as a shift-worker. (Probably not my thing)

The worst thing that happened in the time we were together was that two weeks long, month for month there was hardly any communication between us.

When I came home from work, she was already in bed and in the mornings when she got up I had only slept a couple of hours. At the weekend two completely different worlds met each other and both of us didn’t know about the emotions that the other had. That was really bad.

Back to my story about Lake Constance

The weekend excursion was a dream come true and my friend and I stayed at an inn. It was there that I saw a brochure with a map of Lake Constance, only it was showing the lake the other way round as usual. I got all emotional because I saw the Swabian Sea as a dolphin. That was when my imagination started to run wild and my mind was working overtime.

I knew that I would have no place to live from 1st August 2013 and would have temporary digs from 13th August for the rest of the month in Freiburg. So that meant I had a period of 13 days before my new beginning.

A bike ride round Lake Constance? NO. I was too fit. I would only need 3 days to complete the whole way round without really seeing anything.

Now, long after my hike, I know that it is perilous during the main holiday season to cycle on the bike paths. There are so many cyclists on their way packed closely together. If only one falls then they all crash into each other. Imagine the yelling and screaming. NO thank you.

So, buy a rucksack and start walking; just follow my intuition. Back in the empty rooms of my old flat I hung the dolphin map of Lake Constance on the wall and let my vision grow. Suddenly I thought about the annual festival with fireworks in Constance this Summer 2013 on Saturday, August 10. Then one idea followed another.

I had to measure and estimate the kilometres that I would walk each day. At first I was inclined to start in Stein am Rhein but that wouldn’t suit my plan to see the fireworks at the Birnau Minster. So Ludwigshafen at Lake Constance would be my choice to be the starting point. Direction of my walking-tour: anti-clockwise around Lake Constance. Once, I saw the Constance Fireworks in Constance from the lakeshore and once already from Birnau. Brilliant plan! Yes Sir!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Beweggründe und Motivation zur Umwanderung

Es gab da meinen 39. Geburtstag im Jahr 2012 und ich spürte irgendwie etwas tief in mir brodeln. Etwas war anders als sonst. Ein loderndes kleines Feuer in mir und ein Gefühl der leichten inneren Unruhe verspürte ich. Mein Bauchgehirn sprach zu mir:
„Das Jahr, in dem du 40 wirst, wird dein Leben für immer verändern!“
Ansonsten gab es keine weiteren Informationen von der „Weltenseele“ an mich.
Der Geburtstag war wie jeder andere auch und mein Alltag änderte sich nicht wirklich erwähnenswert. Die Arbeit in der Fabrik als Schichtarbeiter gelang mir wie immer gut, auch wenn sie mich keinesfalls erfüllte. Sie war einfach da und brachte mir einen guten Lebensunterhalt. Der Ausgleich für verlorene Freizeit.
Meine Beziehung zu mir und die zu meiner Partnerin kriselte immer mehr, trotz unseres schönen Zuhauses und der zwei Einkommen, die wir beide nach Hause brachten. Um das Geld brauchten wir uns wirklich keinerlei Sorgen zu bereiten. Machte ich mir Sorgen um die Beziehung?
Nein, ich dachte die Schwierigkeiten legen sich von ganz alleine und es wirdschon irgendwann gut werden. Welch ein Narr ich doch damals war. Ich verstand nicht, dass eine Beziehung mit viel Arbeit verbunden ist! Habe ich einfach das gelebt, was mir meine Eltern vorgelebt hatten?
„Ich denke schon, woher hätte ich wissen können, wie man es besser macht.“

Das soll nicht als Schuldzuspruch an meine Eltern gelten. Meine Eltern haben ihr Bestes gegeben, das weiß ich! Beziehungsprobleme ziehen sich meist durch Generationen hinweg. Und das Auflösen der Schwierigkeiten, die weiter gegeben werden, dauert sehr lange, meist.
Dazu hätte ich Zeichen von außen gebrauchen können, wahrscheinlich gab es diese sogar. Vielleicht fehlte mir schlicht und einfach der Mut, um neue Schritte und Wege für einen Kurswechsel einzuschlagen.
Wie man halt so sein kann, auch ich habe nicht viele Worte darüber verloren!
Das wird in den seltensten Fällen getan, dabei kann es dann leicht sein. Einfach mit Menschen aus dem Umfeld darüber kommunizieren und falls man das Glück hat, erwischt man welche, die weiter als man selbst gekommen sind. Vielleicht haben sie neue Lösungswege erkannt und diese auch umsetzen können, sie praktizieren sie.
Die Tage und Wochen vergingen und das Jahr endete so wie viele andere Jahre zuvor: unspektakulär, einfach und in Anführungszeichen „normal“.
Das neue Jahr 2013 kam zu mir und zu uns. Immer wieder Streit in der Beziehung, ein Auseinanderleben und sich verändern. Nicht zum Positiven hin. Kein gemeinsames Wachstum fand mehr statt!
Anfang März dann das unausweichliche Ende der Beziehung. Schlaflose Nächte und Appetitlosigkeit folgen in meinem Leben. Versuche, mich mit Alkohol zu betäuben, begannen und scheiterten kläglich. Also auf Wiedersehen, liebe Hausbar. Ab in den Abfluss, weg damit und Schluss. Trinken ist niemals und nie eine Lösung! Kurzzeitiges vor sich Herschieben der Probleme, mehr nicht.
Auf der Arbeit habe ich damals trotz der Krise gut funktioniert, das war nicht allzu schwer. Wenn man sich ein gewisses Arbeitssystem angeeignet hat und dieses diszipliniert einhält, kommt der Erfolg in den meisten Fällen fast von ganz alleine. In dieser Zeit lernte ich mich selber besser kennen und traf aus dem Bauch heraus gute und wichtige Entscheidungen – obwohl ich damals keine Antworten auf meine vielen offenen Fragen bekam! Von wem auch?
Die Antworten steckten in mir. Es fühlte sich gut und richtig an. Folge deinem Herzen und deinem Bauchgefühl. Ja.
Einsamkeit und leere Räume wurden mein Zuhause und meine Verbündeten.
Eine schwere Zeit, die ich sicherlich niemals ganz vergessen werden kann. Der Traum, eine gute Beziehung zu führen und eine eigene Familie zu gründen, blieb mir erhalten und war letztendlich der Antrieb für meinen Versuch:

„Der / ein Neuanfang“.

Der Job als Schichtarbeiter in der Fabrik wurde ad acta gelegt. Schluss nach 16 Jahren der Treue zu meinem damaligen Chef. Leid tat mir die Aufgabe der guten Beziehungen zu den meisten Arbeitskollegen. Loslassen.
Mein geliebter Bulli rostete mir unterm Arsch weg und ich verschenkte ihn zum Ablaufmonat des TÜVs. Die gemeinsame Wohnung kündigte ich und ich meldete mich auf der Schule zum Industriemeister Metall an. Damit wollte ich als letzten Versuch das Herz meiner Exfreundin wiedererobern. Dazu mit dem Entschluss, auch nach Freiburg zu ziehen, obwohl ich ein Landei bin. Auf dem Land fühle ich mich wohl. Alle ergriffenen Maßnahmen halfen nichts! Die Beziehung wurde durch das Leben getrennt.
Ende ist Ende – in diesem, meinem Fall.
Im Prinzip habe ich den Mut für mich entwickelt, Dinge zu tun, zu denen ich bis dato nicht bereit war. Erfahrungen sammeln, um mich als Mensch zu komplettieren. Gut so!
Das größte Geschenk an mich damals: „Die Offenheit zu meinen Gefühlen sowie darüber offen und authentisch sprechen zu können. Mich so zu lieben wie ich bin.“ (das weiß ich heute, im JETZT!)
Wie es das Leben so wollte, kam von einer guten Jugendfreundin eine Einladung zu sich an den Bodensee. Trotz anfänglicher Schwierigkeiten, mich auf den Weg zu machen, schaffte ich es und fuhr an einem Wochenende im April 2013 los an den Bodensee. Dort in einem Ort wohnten jedoch auch die Eltern meiner Exfreundin, bei denen ich viele schöne herrliche Tage verbringen durfte.
Dafür bin ich heute noch demütig und dankbar. Wie würde es mir gelingen, an der Ortschaft dort vorbei zu fahren? Eine der Fragen und Gefühle, die mich vor der Abfahrt quälten. Werde ich sie jemals wiedersehen? (eine weitere)
Den Bodensee zeigten mir meine Eltern schon als ich noch ein kleines Kind war. Damals brannte er sich bereits in mein kleines Kinderherz ein. Ob Schiffsfahrten auf dem See, mit dem Auto auf der Fähre übersetzen, die Blumeninsel Mainau oder der Tunnel im Berg zu Österreich, das sind alles Beispiele meiner Erinnerungen aus frühen Kindheitstagen!
Jetzt fuhr ich wirklich an der Ortschaft vorbei und es ging mir den Umständen entsprechend gut. Die Liebe bleibt im Herzen erhalten und das kann mir niemand wegnehmen.

Nach der Ankunft hatte ich mit meiner guten Freundin eine wunderschöne Zeit und die selbstständige Überwindung meines persönlichen Dramas gab mir Kraft zurück. Das Ego redete mir Mut zu: „Kai, du wirst jetzt eine lange Zeit den Bodensee nicht mehr sehen und fühlen.“ (So ein Quatsch letztendlich)
Dort, bei einem Ausflug am Strand des Sees, kam eine erste Vision in mir auf. Ich wollte noch etwas Verrücktes tun, bevor ich nach Freiburg in eine WG ziehen würde und meinen Neuanfang zu leben.
Eigentlich hat mich meine Exfreundin zum Wandern gebracht, sie wollte mit mir immer mal eine Mehrtageswanderung unternehmen. Dazu war ich damals nicht bereit und eigentlich hatte ich ihr im Jahr 2012 versprochen, eine “Rucksackreise” mit ihr im Sommer 2013 nach Südamerika zu unternehmen.
Davor wollte ich mir aber eine andere Stelle suchen, denn Schichtarbeit richtete meinen Schlafrhythmus zu Grunde. In den Frühschichtwochen war ich nach ein paar Tagen der Arbeit immer dauermüde. Abends, wenn ich früh ins Bett sollte, um ausreichend Schlaf zu finden, wurde ich wach und munter. In den Spätschichtwochen konnte ich vor 3 Uhr in der Nacht selten einschlafen. Mein Schicksal als Schichtarbeiter. (wohl nicht mein Ding!)
Das Schlimmste aus dieser gemeinsamen Zeit, denn 2 Wochen lang, Monat für Monat, fand so gut wie keinerlei Kommunikation zwischen uns statt.
Wenn ich von der Arbeit heim kam, lag sie schon im Bett und morgens, wenn sie aufstand, schlief ich erst wenige Stunden. An den Wochenenden trafen dann zwei komplett verschiedene Welten aufeinander und keiner kannte die Gefühlslage des Partners. Ganz schlimm!!!

„So nun zurück zu meiner Geschichte vom Bodensee.“

Der Wochenendausflug war ein gelebter Traum und die Freundin kehrte mit in einem Gasthaus ein. Dort fand mich diese Werbekarte vom Bodensee, auf der der See anders herum wie gewohnt abgelichtet ist. In mir kam ein Gefühl auf, ich sah das Schwäbische Meer als Delfin. Dann ratterte es in meinem Gehirn und meine Phantasie ging mit mir durch.
Ich wusste, dass ich zum 01. August 2013 wohnungslos sein würde und ab dem 13. August eine Übergangsbleibe für den Rest des Monats in Freiburg hätte.
Also eine Zeitspanne von 13 Tagen bis zu meinem Neuanfang.
Mit dem Rad um den Bodensee? NEIN. Dafür bin ich zu fit. Ich würde ihn spätestens in 3 Tagen umrundet haben, ohne wirklich etwas gesehen zu haben.
Jetzt, lange nach meiner Umwanderung, weiß ich auch, dass es lebensgefährlich ist, in der Hauptferienzeit auf den Radwegen dort unterwegs zu sein. So viele Radfahrer auf einem Haufen und dicht an dicht! Wenn einer nur stürzt, dann liegen ganz viele auf der Schnauze und dann ist das Geschrei groß. NEIN dazu.
Also einen Rucksack kaufen und los wandern, ganz meiner Bauchentscheidung folgend. Zurück in den leeren Räumen der alten Wohnung hing ich die “Delfinbodenseekarte” an die Wand und ließ meine Vision wachsen. Plötzlich fiel mir das Seenachtfest mit dem Feuerwerk zu Konstanz ein, in diesem Sommer 2013 am Samstag, den 10. August. Dann ging es Schlag auf Schlag.

Kilometer die an einen Tag zurückgelegt werden konnten, mussten abgemessen und geschätzt werden. Zuerst hatte ich den Impuls, in Stein am Rhein los zu gehen. Doch das würde dann zeitlich überhaupt nicht mit dem Plan hinhauen, das Feuerwerk von der Klosterkirche Birnau zu sehen. Also wurde Ludwigshafen am Bodensee als Startort auserkoren. Meine Wanderrichtung: links herum um den Bodensee. Einmal schon hatte ich das Feuerwerk zu Konstanz in Konstanz am Seeufer gesehen und einmal auch schon von der Birnau aus. Genialer Plan! Jawohl!

Nur auf amzone erhältlich.

Der Bodensee immer Links - Cover

Kommentar verfassen

